What’s for Dinner? Congealed Pig’s Blood!

This is another delicious dish from my host family’s kitchen.  And, I say that with no sarcasm.  It’s actually really tasty.

Congealed pig’s blood has the consistency of tofu or a soft cheese.  And, it adds an interesting flavor to a mix of noodles, broth and vegetables.  This was the congealed blood soup we had:

I ate this on occasion for several months before I knew what it was.  Congealed pig’s blood is certainly a case of “Don’t judge a book by its cover”.

This week we had our pig’s blood with Khmer rice noodles.  We only eat these noodles during special occasions.  They were left over from my host sister’s pre-wedding dowry party.

I’m trying my best to keep a well-rounded diet here.  And, lately, I’ve been looking to a blog my cousin Tori is contributing to.  She’s so good at what she does that she scored a job with a famous nutritionist who handles all the health issues for the Kansas City Royals.

Check out the blog to see why it’s so good (even to those of us who are not huge health nuts):

http://www.nutritionexpert.com/blog

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to What’s for Dinner? Congealed Pig’s Blood!

  1. Aunt Di says:

    Oh my goodness! I can understand why they didn’t tell you what this was until after you had tried it. I think you are much braver than I, or maybe have a better stomach than I do. WOW!
    We will have to check with Tori to see if she would put this on her plate :)
    Thanks, Travis! You are the BEST!
    Love ya!

  2. Tori says:

    Thanks Travis! You definitely have a stronger stomach than I do. I love getting to see all of the different types of foods they eat over there. Maybe I’ll look up the health benefits of pig’s blood for my next blog ;) Love ya!

  3. Katie Thompson says:

    I try to keep an open mind while I read your blog but this one was too much for me! I can’t believe someone even thought to congeal pig’s blood and then put it into food! This is definitely one thing you don’t have to bring back to the states with you!

  4. expatbrazil says:

    Used to eat the Vietnam version, but I don’t recall if it was pig or duck blood. Washed it down with rice wine… ;-)

  5. Cathy Davis says:

    I can’t even imagine. You are much more adventurous and brave than I could ever be! Love, Kaki

  6. cathy seow says:

    Sounds like you are getting lots of iron. I am really keen on trying the pork with rice and mango juice/smoothie you wrote about on an earlier entry.

    By the way my husband and I are heading to Siem Reap to run in the Angkor Wat half marathon–our first. Will you be participating in the bicycle race this year?

Leave a Reply

