In the Weeds

The past two weeks have been non-stop as I continue to get settled in and acquainted with my new work.  I’m now riding motorcycles when I go to our schools outside town.  I couldn’t post a picture like the one above when I was a Peace Corps volunteer because the org forbids volunteers from getting on motorcycles.  Now, I’m free of those rules.

This week I went with Rany (above) to the school where I used to teach, Puok High School.  Ponheary Ly Foundation supports a number of students there so we had to check on test scores.  I loved seeing the school director and my teacher friends.

The school already looks different again.  This giant new classroom building will be completed in March 2013.

The biggest thing that’s happened in the two weeks since we last talked is that the Ponheary Ly Foundation got more than 100,000 school supplies delivered that we now have to prepare for our students prior to handing them out at each school opening ceremony in a couple weeks.  See more pics and videos about the massive delivery here.

Some other things that have kept me busy the past two weeks:

–Researching a solar power expansion at one of our schools.

.
–Meeting with an organization that has girls soccer leagues so that one of our schools can possibly form a team in addition to the boys team it already has.

.

–Responding to potential PLF volunteers, weeding some out.  Then, I was making room reservations, arranging pick up times and locations, and making school assignments for the ones we do accept.  (It’s a bit like being a travel agent).

.

–Meeting with a British org in Siem Reap to set up a new way for people from the U.K. to donate to PLF…it allows us to receive 25% U.K. government gift funds.

.

–Separating donors into groups by country, and PLF projects they’ve donated to, so that we can communicate with them in more intimate ways.

.
–Learning the ins-and-outs of what it’s going to take on my part to help PLF grow in big ways the next year.  I’m going to have to grow a backbone and be a manager.

And, this week I cast my vote for President of the U.S.  I only wish my vote was registered in Ohio or Florida, instead of Kentucky.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to In the Weeds

  1. Diane says:

    You look awesome, Travis. Sounds like you have been a very busy guy! I’m sure that you are doing some things now that you’ve not experienced before. I know that you will work hard and continue to make a difference. We are so proud of you!
    Take care, and remember how much we love and miss you!

  2. Dianna says:

    Love seeing that big smile on your face. It’s great that you have an easier way to get around. You certainly do have a lot to do. Your teachers will love getting the new supplies. We teachers get very excited about new school stuff. What you are doing is so important. I admire you a great deal. Please be careful and stay safe. We all love and miss you.

  3. Aunt Kim says:

    Please, please, please be carefule on those motorcycles. Over the past couple of years you have told us all of the numerous accidents that happen on those things!!!

  4. Sherri Thompson says:

    So happy to see a new blog!!! Boy, you have sure jumped right into your new job!
    Love that you got to go back and see your teacher friends and the progress on the school!!
    Amazing! Sure do love and miss you!!!! Counting down the days!!!! 🙂 🙂 🙂

  5. Cathy Davis says:

    Travis – I am with Aunt Kim – be really careful on the motorcycles and make sure the driver is an excellent defensive driver. I figured since it had been a while since you posted, that you were incredibly busy with your new job. I love hearing about what you are doing and seeing all the pictures. What you are doing with the foundation is so wonderful! We are so proud of you! We can’t wait to see and hear more – and looking forward to Christmas! Love, Kaki

  6. Bob Thompson says:

    Travis, are you going to buy a motorcycle or just catch a ride on one. Looks like you will be a “traveling man”. Great work.

    • Hey Uncle Bob. I’ll probably hold off on buying one since it’s easy to get around town on my bicycle or a tuktuk. And, whenever I head out, one of the field directors is usually going too. But, I have a lot of office time. Good to hear from you. Hope all is well.

  7. Brian Gilbert says:

    What’s this Kentucky doesn’t count nonsense???????????
    Helllllooooo, we are hosting the Vice Presidential debate!
    Centre College, 10/11/2012!
    Mister Travie our feelings are so hurt here in Lexington.

Leave a Reply

