The Best Part of My New Job

I’m feeling more exhausted than I have at any other point since I moved to Cambodia.  We just finished delivering school supply bundles and bicycles to our students in locations across the northeast part of the country over the past eight days.  I’m tired, but feeling so happy and excited to be part of an organization that is changing things here.  And, the best part of the job is the time we get to spend at the schools.

One bump in the week, we’ve had to postpone deliveries at two schools because of Tropical Storm Gaemi which is headed straight for us in the next day or so.

Here are a few of the pics taken at our schools over the past week.  In some of the areas surrounding our most remote school in Preah Vihear Province, landmines are still a very real threat.  In March, a student was severely injured when he brought a UXO he picked up from a field into a classroom and made it explode.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Best Part of My New Job

  1. Diane says:

    Travis,
    It has to feel incredible to know the good you are doing there. It is very frightening, though, to know the dangers that are there. I just cannot imagine. I pray for the safety of all of you. Please be careful!! Love you!

  2. Sherri Thompson says:

    Oh my gosh!!!! Absolutely love the first picture…..really ALL of the school pictures showing the faces of those you all are helping! What was the paper chain hanging about? Love the picture at the school with the one little boy looking back at you! I bet you are incredibly tired, but SO worth it!! Wish I could jump on a TukTuk and come join you!!! I would love to be with the children! They wouldn’t know WHAT to do with both of us!!!!:):):)
    Keep up the inspiring work Travis! I love you!!!!

  3. Cathy Davis says:

    Thanks for all the great pictures. You are doing amazing things! I hope the storm is not too bad! Love, Kaki

  4. Dianna says:

    I bet you felt like Santa. The little kids are so cute. I like the little boy watching you with all of the others facing forward listening. Some of the pictures show what looks to be classrooms decorated like what we have, almost, and then others with very old looking desk. I notice most of the student pictures are boys. Hope that changes with progress. Keep up the very important work. Love you.

  5. Victoria says:

    Hi Travis- Still really appreciate your Blog since I last commented in April. (see my included “website”). My husband and I get in to Siem Reap (staying at 7 candles) late December 25th, which is fast approaching. So Excited! Is there anything for you or other (current or ex) PCVs that I can bring from America? (when I visited my friend when she was in the Peace Corps in Albania, it was pancake syrup and brown sugar). I pack light, so I should have plenty of checked baggage room, even after the stuff I plan to bring for the PLF. And if you have time, maybe we can meet up.
    Thanks!
    Victoria

Leave a Reply

