Flooding Confusion

I talked to my host family today. Turns out there was some confusion.

As is normal in my Cambodian life, I lost a few things in translation. That’s easy to do on the phone.

The real story: Water is high around the house and a bit of water made it in the kitchen, but the house and my host family are okay.

The school and my host grandfather’s house are heavily flooded.

I think my host mother called me at 3:00 am because everything seems worse in the middle of the night.

In the meantime, as I wait out the flooding, I’ve gone a few hours south of Phnom Penh to the beach with some friends… Rough life.

I don’t have my computer or the internet. I’m updating this blog from my friend’s BlackBerry. So, I can’t post pics.

Over the next couple days you’ll see some posts I’ve been meaning to put up for a while. I’ve scheduled them to post automatically.

I’ll be back in touch when I return to the city from the beach.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Flooding Confusion

  1. Dianna says:

    OK. You poor thing, I guess you’ll just have to tough out the flood. Enjoy the beach. Lots of love.

  2. Aunt Di says:

    Great news that things at the house aren’t as bad as you first thought. Hope the rain has stopped and things will return to normal, soon! Sorry about your host grandfather’s house and the school!! We are thinking about you and those there in need!!!
    Love you!!

Leave a comment