What’s for Dinner? Pig Tongue!

This is what I had for dinner last night.  It’s one of my favorite meals here.  We eat it regularly in my host family’s house.

The left bowl is pork and vegetable soup.  The right bowl is fried pig tongue (cut up) and cucumbers.  You dip the pig tongue in the brown sauce.  And, I’m not kidding, it’s one of my favorite Cambodian foods.  It’s delicious.

From time to time over the next year, I’m going to show pics of my dinners because I like food.

Of course, this meal, and every meal, wouldn’t be complete without a healthy helping of rice.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to What’s for Dinner? Pig Tongue!

  1. Sherri Thompson says:

    The food looks delicious just not the NAME of what it is!!!!! It will be great to look back and see all the meals and extremely different kinds of food you have digested in Cambodia once you get back!!!!! Yummy!!! Love ya!!!!

  2. Katie says:

    Were you always adventurous in your food choices or did you have to become out of necessity?

  3. Dianna says:

    Your host mom must be a great cook. How do you stay so slim and trim?

  4. aatalcorn says:

    Hey, we had pig tongue the other day too. Ours was at a yakiniku where they gave it to us raw and we cooked it at the table. We also had some pig intestine. It was ok, but there are much better parts of the pig.

    • I wasn’t sure if the pig parts were such a big deal in Japan. Glad to hear you’re getting some tongue too. haha. We have pig intestines pretty often in my family’s house. I like the way they cook it, but I’ve had it at a restaurant where it tasted totally different (and not as good).

  5. Cathy Davis says:

    Yikes! You know me and my picky eating. I definitely would find this one hard to enjoy! I am very proud that you are trying and enjoying so many different things. I will stick to chicken sandwiches and potato soup!. Love, Kaki

Leave a comment