The Best Man

That’s my typical Khmer wedding outfit—the white shirt and black pants I wear to every wedding here.  They’re looking worn out and dirty these days after so many hand-washings.   I’m retiring this outfit after a shocking turn of events.

About three months ago my neighbor asked me to be the Best Man in his wedding.  I doubted the seriousness of the offer until today when he called to make sure I have the proper Best Man attire.   He also informed me I’ll be required to be at the wedding from 5:00am to 8:00pm.

The wedding is January 3, 2012.  That’s less than three weeks!  I don’t know the guy very well, but his fiancee’s daughter is in the English class I teach at my house two nights a week.  I can only guess at his reasons for asking me to play this big role in his wedding.  This will be my first time to be a Best Man.  I hope this job doesn’t require drinking rice wine.  If so, I may not live to see the next day.

The groom came to my house to survey my typical Khmer wedding outfit.  He said it wouldn’t cut it.  The pants need to be tighter, the shirt whiter.  So, I’ll be purchasing new black pants, a white shirt, and black dress shoes before year’s end.  I hope they have my size in Puok.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Best Man

  1. Sherri Thompson says:

    Oh my gosh! Wow! Best Man! Guess you do need something a little cleaner and whiter! Not sure about the tighter:):):) I am sure you will be the BEST…..BEST Man ever!!! Hope you get a lot of pictures!!!! Is he going to buy any of that for you???? Guess your Christmas money will be spent a little differently than you thought!!!!! He must think a lot of you to ask YOU to be his BEST MAN!
    Soooooooo, hope they have your size too! I have a funny picture in my mind of you in tight black pants that are waaaaaay to short and a white shirt with the sleeves up to your elbows:)
    Oh the adventures you encounter in Cambodia! Sure do love you!!!!

  2. Aunt Di says:

    Oh my!! Tight and white! How impressive that you’ve been there a year, and you are someone’s BEST MAN! Sounds like a LONG day ahead of you!!! Hope it’s fun!
    Love you!

  3. Cathy Davis says:

    Can’t wait to see the pictures and hear your story about this wedding! We are going to Barb Hopper’s son’s wedding on New Year’s Eve in OKC. The wedding is at the state Capitol. We can compare weddings! Missing you! Love, Kaki

Leave a comment