Blowin’ in the Wind: The Truck Taxi

I didn’t take this picture, but often times the truck taxis that come through Puok and across Cambodia look something like this.

A few months back I had to accompany a friend from Puok to the hospital in Siem Reap because she was sick.  I usually ride my bike an hour to get to town, but this was obviously a special circumstance.

I took my camera with us for our truck taxi journey into town.  The taxis are filled with people of all ages.  This time I sat next to a breast-feeding mother (among many other people).

Most times you have to sit on the ledge of the truck bed because you’re jammed between not only people, but also packages, bikes, crates of fruit and vegetables, and chickens.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Blowin’ in the Wind: The Truck Taxi

  1. expatbrazil says:

    I rode on a banana truck once. Piece of cake compared to your local transportation system.

  2. Sherri Thompson says:

    That looks like the Thompsons loaded up to go somewhere!!! Unbelievable!!! Can’t see how the tires would hold up for very long!!!!!!
    Hope you made it safely! Love the picture of you in my favorite color!!!!
    Love ya!!!!!!!!!!

  3. Cathy Davis says:

    What amazing contrasts to what we are used to and there are so many things we take for granted! I love the pictures. Love, Kaki

Leave a comment